About Me

I am a 23 year old graduate marketeer who has recently started a career in marketing, so here we go my first post!!!!!

Lets rewind the clock to around a year ago, I had just graduated from Northumbria University with a 2:1 after four wonderful years in Newcastle. It was then time to  get a job but before this a family holiday was in order!!!! It would also not be right if a student after graduating didn’t go travelling, so I embarked on 7 weeks of travelling in New Zealand and Australia on my own.

Travelling is invaluable in my opinion. 7 weeks travelling on my own made me grow up an incredible amount but also allowed me to do things that I would have never of dreamed off. This included scuba diving and sky diving, I would recommend travelling to anyone. I have made lifelong friends and lifelong memories which money cant buy.

Once back in the UK the search for a job in marketing commenced, with a placement year and a degree in Business & Marketing Management I was optimistic that I would land myself a job. After around a month searching and interviewers up and down the country I landed myself a Marketing Executive position in a highly established Telecoms company. However I had to wait over a month the start the job.

I hope you enjoyed my first blog, I plan to blog about my career in marketing, highlighting how it is for a graduate marketing executive. Hopefully my experiences and tips will help you succeed in your career, as a dyslexic person I hope to share skills that help to deal with dyslexia and maximize your dyslexic ability.

Some things I have learned so far:

  • Hold out for your first marketing position, I could of been in call centre within a week of being back!!!
  • You will always learn something new everyday, marketing is constantly evolving
  • The real world is very different to the academic world

Have a lovely day 🙂

Your 23 year old graduate marketeer – Please follow me on twitter @MarketingSean

Leave a Reply

